Today!

Hazel

Today is the day!

We had a crazy week, getting ready for the arrival of my wonderful brother from Australia and super-new-mum sister Hannah. We also had to haul ourselves to London for the expo to pick up our numbers. But we did manage to get two more lovely, easy short runs in. Final things we noticed were that, when she gets nervous Gillian doesn’t sleep or eat: whoops, and that a year of running one handed with the buggy and the tether really has given me the biggest guns ever!

The expo was the most exciting day ever, and we had a blast. Baby Arthur even ran the marathon course which was drawn on the floor.

So this morning, I’m sitting eating porridge with treacle, and scrambled eggs on toast, with the running husband and I assume Gillian is doing something very similar at her house with my brother. We’re about to leap on a train into London, to be followed by the two men plus my dad plus the baby for their spectating mission. The ever brilliant mother-in-law is on baby-sitting duty for the day, in a park somewhere in west London, and super-mum sister is ground 0 in Windsor watching the TV coverage and acting as a communications portal. Houston, if you like.

Gillian and I have a new extended tether, and I have some instructions courtesy of the London Marathon Disability Co-ordinator (as of yesterday!). The only thing left is for us to go! Wish us luck!

 

Leave a comment